The Graduate School Debate… Continued

I’ve been loosely looking into different graduate programs and schools to try to find something that I feel best fits my goals and interests and that I feel I would love.

Here are some of my ideas.

Master of Public Administration at Queen’s

What I like about this program is that it is an extremely concentrated degree taking place in only 12 months instead of the usual 2 years.

Social and Political Thought at Acadia University

I really like the interdisciplinary nature of this program and that it would allow me to further develop my own research interests and ideas.

Master of Public Administration at Dalhousie University

I love the east coast and I love Halifax, I wanted to go to Dalhousie for my undergraduate but my family felt staying in Ontario would be best. I also like how developed Dalhousie’s graduate school is as it would allow me to take courses across a number of Faculties.

Master of Public Policy at Simon Fraser University

While this is a two year degree, it includes a paid internship and has research supervisors who specialize in gender, international policy, sustainability, governance, and a ton of other areas I’m also interested in.

Master of Public Service at the University of Waterloo

This is also a 2 year degree however only 1 year is in class, the second year consists of an internship or co-op. The downside is that the co-op is done through career services and is limited to placements with national, provincial or local agencies. The course structure is also fairly set in stone with little to no electives or opportunities to specialize.

Master of Business Administration in Community Economic Development at Cape Breton University

This is a program that can be done in 12 months and I believe it would open more doors for me in the field of International Development as well as in other fields as well. It also allows me to specialize in a number of different areas.

Master of Arts in Political Science at Memorial University

I particularly like that I would be able to do a one year degree including the internship or research paper, however I’m not as excited about having a Master of Arts.

2 responses

  1. Wow, those are some really interesting options!
    Although I didnt look into the programs websites, the two I found the most interesting were Social and Political Thought at Acadia University, and Master of Arts in Political Science at Memorial University. But the perks in Master of Public Policy at Simon Fraser University seems interesting and fun. I think a strong political background could benefit you better in the long run, perhaps?
    Ahhh ! How ever are you going to choose?

    • I have absolutely no clue yet. :( Part of me wants to do one that’s only one year just because I’ve been in school for so long now that it feels like too much to sign on for 2 more years after this.. but we shall see. It’ll probably come down to who accepts me. :)

Tell me what you think

