Entitlement and one bad xe om experience

Today I experienced something a little bit startling; it caught me off guard; it made me angry.

On my usual bus ride/walk to work I experience anywhere from 5-10 offers to use a ‘xe om’ or ‘motorcyle taxi’ and have perfected the response: smile, shake my head, say ‘khong’ or ‘no’, and wave my hands in the ‘enough’ motion. Today, in the last portion of my walk – and usually the portion with the least xe om offers – a man said xe om and gestured in the general direction of a motorbike. I responded in my usual manner and continued to walk by.

However it did not stop there. As I passed him – and stopped paying attention to what he was doing – he grabbed my arm, swinging me back and proceeded to try to drag me to his motorbike. Apparently saying ‘no’ politely did not suffice. After a few shouts that caught the attention of people around me (and there were many as it was rush hour) he let go and said a few things in Vietnamese to his friends that garnered a laugh.

Some people feel as though they are entitled to take or do what they want even if it requires the use of force, some people feel entitled to coerce others into following their will, often without guilt.

All I could think of was how frequently these things happen in pretty much every country around the world. Saying no is not enough, people are left with no choice but to fight for autonomy, independence, and rights – all of which should be guaranteed and in many cases are already granted through the law. Do not take your rights for granted, do not allow legislative changes or self-entitlement to take away your rights, do not become self-entitled and do anything to compromise the rights of others. Be respectful.

8 responses

  1. Yikes, scary that happened to you Steph :( I just had my first successful hitching experience to visit the other girls and have to hitch on the way home – hoping to have another positive experience, but stories like this make me nervous! I’m glad that you’re okay and handle yourself so great in any situation. Love you.

  2. Clearly the no means no message had not gotten through to this man. Just as well you had people around you and were not in more serious danger. No doubt remaining steadfast and asserting your right to refuse sorted the situation out in the end.

  3. Yikes :/ glad you know how to handle every situation thrown at you…and completely agree with your thoughts on respecting one another and yourself.

Tell me what you think

