I can’t believe I still have to say these things

There are days when gender issues infuriate me and when people/problems just seem absolutely ridiculous. There are things/opinions that I actually cannot believe I have to voice or express. There are so many things that you would think would be common sense by now.

I can’t believe that I have to say I believe in gender equality.

I can’t believe that I have to say that I believe men and women should have equal rights, opportunities, responsibilities and receive equal respect.

I can’t believe that I have to say that I think that girls and boys should be able to go to school.

I can’t believe that I have to say that I think that every person should have access to family planning education, counselling, and support (through contraception, abortion, help with fertility, STD/HIV testing, treatment, prenatal and postnatal care, etc.).

I can’t believe that I have to say that I think men and women have the right to live free from fear of being assaulted (physically, sexually, emotionally), free from fear of rape, free from fear of being drugged, etc.

I can’t believe that I have to say that I think that all genders and people within genders, regardless of race, ethnicity, nationality, identity, religion, age, political beliefs, size, physical/mental ability or disability etc. are equal and should be treated equally.

Worst of all, I can’t believe that people think I’m radical for believing these things. Is it so radical to believe that all people (without conditions, no ifs, ands, or buts) are equal.

Period. All people are equal.

3 responses

  1. The struggle, unfortunately, never ends. I agree that it is discouraging. I’m old enough to remember when abortion was illegal, a man couldn’t rape his wife, there was no date rape, people didn’t know what sexual harassment was etc., etc. So we have come a long way. But the point right now is to keep us from slipping back too far.

    I have a theory which is that as women suceed more in their quest for equality, that men are threatened. And when threatened they retaliate by trying to go backward. The world is changing and some can’t deal with change.

    Hang in there! And keep saying what you are saying.

    • Thank you, this means a lot to me. I find it interesting that men are threatened, particularly as gender equality has nothing to do with taking rights away for men – actually as women outnumber men in schools and fields there are checks in place to meet minimum quotas of men in those areas. It’s just interesting to see how things change and the fight against that change.

Tell me what you think

