Revisiting old posts and reviewing search terms

I took some time today to read through some of my old blog posts, I find that as I hit mental blocks in writing my thesis it can be helpful to read through what has inspired me in the past. I wanted to take a few moments to draw attention to some of the most common search terms that people use to find my blog. A common thing that comes across is the question “What does it mean to be a woman?” or “What does it mean to be a girl?” and while my posts where I developed my own answer to these questions (Part One and Part Two) seem to be quite popular, they are not necessarily comprehensive. In fact, they aren’t even comprehensive to how I feel about the topic now – they were responses to very specific experiences that occurred over a set of days and weeks – hardly representative of my entire life or viewpoint on my gender. 

I find that I look up answers to those big questions too frequently, I’m constantly seeking approval or answers that someone else has experienced or wondered or asked the same things that I have. Why do I seek validation from other people? Why am I looking for some proof that my experience is not unique? Why am I looking for proof that I am the same as someone else, instead of embracing what makes me different? I’m curious about goal to be normal or to blend in, what does this even mean and why do we want it? 

Personally, I’m done with it. I’m tired of telling people what I do, or what I’m passionate about and feeling like I can’t share too much of myself for fear of sounding too different. I want to be different, I want to be myself, and I want to be able to celebrate the things that make me unique without feeling the need to shine a little less bright. 

So cheers to those who ask the big questions, who refuse to conform to the people we’re told we need to be, and to those who keep shining bright regardless of the response you’re met with. 

Tell me what you think

